Sydney Metro Northwest

Sydney Metro Northwest, NSW

The Sydney Metro Northwest project will be the first fully-automated metro rail system in Australia and will deliver eight new railway stations, 4,000 commuter car parks and a new high frequency single deck train system to Sydney's growing North West - a region with the highest car ownership levels per household in Australia. Trains will operate every four minutes in the peak with at least 15 trains per hour. John Holland has been awarded two packages of work for the Sydney Metro Northwest.

As part of the TJHD Consortium (Thiess, John Holland and Dragados), this $1.15 billion Tunnel and Station Civil Works contract will see the construction of twin 15 kilometre tunnels between Bella Vista and Epping. These twin tunnels will be the longest rail tunnels ever built in Australia. Construction of the tunnel component required four custom-made, double-shielded, hard-rock Tunnel Boring Machines (TBMs). The TJHD Consortium will also provide the detailed design, construction and handover of the running tunnels, cross passages, nozzle enlargements and connections, as well as excavation and civil works to deliver five new stations and two service facilities.

Subsequent to the tunnel and civil works contract, the Northwest Rapid Transit (NRT) Consortium (John Holland, MTR Corporation, Leighton Contractors and UGL Rail Services) will procure rolling stock and design, build, finance, and then operate the Sydney Metro Northwest’s 36 kilometre metro train service for a 15-year period. This contract includes delivery of a stabling and maintenance depot at Cudgegong Road in Rouse Hill, eight new railway stations, associated car parking facilities and installation of signalling, mechanical and electrical systems. Track work includes construction of 23 kilometres of new rail network from Cudgegong Road to Epping and upgrades for the 13 kilometres of existing rail network between Epping and Chatswood.